Logo

Program Spotlights #3: Umass, University of South Carolina-Greenville, Loma Linda University, Maine Medical Center, University of Puerto Rico, Rutgers NJMS, University of Pittsburgh Medical Center - Shared screen with speaker view
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University
35:25
can someone allow me to unmute myself?
Sarah Hinton (she/her) - Prisma Health/UofSCSOM-Greenville
35:41
Same for me :)
Alex Mieczkowski (UPMC PD; she/her)
36:09
Same here actually if you don’t mind!
Anita Gandhi
36:10
Anita Gandhi, 2022, gandhia18@students.ecu.edu
Anjani Kapadia
36:22
Anjani Kapadia, 2022, anjanikapadia@gmail.com
Alex Woinski OMS-III
36:24
Alex Woinski, 2023, awoinski@osteo.wvsom.edu
Mit Shah - MS4 Saint Louis University SOM
36:24
Mit Shah, 2022, mit.shah@health.slu.edu
Annika Lee
36:25
Annika Lee, 2022, annika.clare.lee@emory.edu
Brianna Norris
36:25
Brianna Norris, 2022, brianna.norris@my.rfums.org
Ummar Jamal
36:26
Ummar Jamal, 2022, uj7786@pcom.edu
Alaina Turchi
36:26
Alaina Turchi ,2022 aturchi@iu.edu
Natalie McGinnis, MS4 UT Houston
36:28
Natalie McGinnis 2022 Natalie.h.mcginnis@uth.tmc.edu
Rebecca McDonald
36:28
Rebecca McDonald, 2022, rebeccamcdonald@my.unthsc.edu
Marjada Tucker
36:28
Marjada Tucker, 2022, mftucker@umc.edu
Andrew Powell
36:29
Andrew Powell, 2022, apowell864@marian.edu
Kayla Wilson
36:29
Kayla Wilson, 2022, kayla.wilson@my.rfums.org
Rucha Vyas, St. George's University
36:29
Rucha Vyas, 2022, rvyas@sgu.edu
Vincent Cendán, MS4, UCF COM
36:30
Vincent Cendan, 2022, vincent.cendan@knights.ucf.edu
Alexis
36:30
Alexis Fox, 2022, foxalex@upstate.edu
Katie Burke MS4, AMC
36:31
Katie Burke 2022 burkek3@amc.edu
Emily Kepfer
36:32
Emily Kepfer, 2022, emilyke@pcom.edu
Max Deng (he/him/his)
36:33
Max Deng, 2022, max.deng@umassmed.edu
Jocelyn McGill
36:35
Jocelyn McGill, 2022, jmmcgill@uams.edu
Brittany Hopkins
36:36
Brittany Hopkins, 2022 bhopkins19@email.mmc.edu
Meredith Kline
36:36
Meredith Kline, 2022, meredith.kline@emory.edu
Rohan Khazanchi (he/him)
36:37
Rohan Khazanchi, 2022, r.khazanchi@unmc.edu
Samantha Pendleton
36:37
Samantha Pendleton, 2022, spendleton1@une.edu
Jaimie Rogner
36:38
Jaimie Rogner 2022 rognerj@upstate.edu
Monica Kala
36:40
Monica Kala, 2022, mkala@umc.edu
Dang Vu
36:40
dang.vu96@gmail.com
Kei Takigawa
36:43
Kei Takigawa, 2022, kei.takigawa@ttuhsc.edu
kalika mahato
36:44
Kalika mahato 2023kalika.mahato@unmc.edu
Sundar Devakottai, UIWSOM
36:46
Sundar Devakottai, 2022, devakott@student.uiwtx.edu
Taylor Orcutt
36:47
Taylor Orcutt, 2022, taylororcutt@my.unthsc.edu
Christopher Eaton
36:48
Christopher Eaton, 2022, cveb9c@umsystem.edu
Nishma Jain
36:57
Nishma Jain, 2022 nj218@njms.rutgers.edu
Renita Daniels
36:57
Renita Daniels, 2022, renita.daniels@gmail.com
Hadiqa Memon (PLFSOM- MS4)
37:03
Hadiqa Memon, 2022, hadiqa.memon@ttuhsc.edu
Megan Schoelch
37:04
Megan Schoelch, 2022, mas4b2@umsystem.edu
Drew Cox, MS4
37:08
Drew Cox, 2022, drew_cox@brown.edu
Dang Vu
37:11
Dang Vu, 2022thvu@salud.unm.edu
Phillip Pemberton
37:12
Phillip Pemberton, 2022, johnphillip.pemberton@osumc.edu
Kurestin Miller
37:14
Kurestin Miller, 2022, kurestin@email.sc.edu
Erik Reidel
37:15
Erik Reidel, 2022, reidele@amc.edu
Matthew Au
37:16
Matthew Au, 2022, Matthew.au@my.rfums.org
Samuel Stanley
37:17
Sam Stanley, 2022sps81@case.edu
Francisco Lasso-Claudio, PHSU MS4
37:22
Francisco Lasso-Claudio, 2022, flasso18@stu.psm.edu
Elizabeth Hernandez
37:40
Elizabeth Hernandez, 2022, edh1322@jagmail.southalabama.edu
Andrew Nevin
37:42
Andrew Nevin, 2022, anevin@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Supriya Reddy
37:44
Supriya Reddy 2021 sjrbn4@mail.umkc.edu
Santoshi M Kandalam
37:48
Santoshi Kandalam, 2022, mounikakandalam@gmail.com
Laith Enani
37:58
Laith Enani, 2022, Lenani@hawaii.edu
Erica Onwuegbuchu
38:00
Erica Onwuegbuchu, 2022, eronwueg@utmb.edu
Reesha White
38:25
Reesha White , 2022, reesha.white@burrell.edu
Aaron Chinners
38:26
Aaron Chinners 2022 ajc1005@jagmail.southalabama.edu
Tiffany Brooks
38:36
Tiffany Brooks, 2022, Tiffany.Brooks@osumc.edu
Varsha Kandadi
38:53
Varsha Kandadi, 2022, vktgc@umsystem.edu
Khadijah Hussain - MS4, Western Michigan University
39:34
Khadijah Hussain, c/o 2022, khadijah.hussain@med.wmich.edu
Margaret Ginoza
39:55
Margaret Ginoza, 2022, mginoza@miami.edu
Hannah Durant
40:30
Hannah Durant, 2022, hdurant@une.edu
Farha Pirani
42:37
Farha Pirani, 2022, fpirani@augusta.edu
Taylor Hill
44:04
Taylor Hill 2022 twh001@lsuhs.edu
Sarah Hinton (she/her) - Prisma Health/UofSCSOM-Greenville
46:50
I still can't unmute
Kristin Wong - Rutgers
46:58
For the post session survey: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/RK3XYDL
Katie Diamond-Falk (she/her) - MMC PD
47:13
Can you make us cohosts?
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University (he/him)
47:57
me too
Emily Kelly (she/her) - MMC pgy3
55:15
Is someone able to let me unmute? (Maine Med resident)
Christy Tsui, PGY1 (MaineMed)
55:31
^same, please unmute me! (MMC resident/presenter)
Katie Diamond-Falk (she/her) - MMC PD
58:24
https://www.mainehealth.org/maine-medical-center/education-research/students-residents-fellows/residencies/internal-medicine-pediatricsKatie Diamond-Falk – program director: diamok1@mmc.orgEmily Kelly – pgy3: enkelly@mmc.orgChristy Tsui – pgy1: ctsui@mmc.org
Avleen Bhandal (she/her)
59:43
Sorry for joining late! Avleen Bhandal, 2022, avleenkbhandal@gmail.com
John Solomonides (Umass)
59:48
Is there a presenter out there from Puerto Rico???
Mayra
01:00:02
yes me
Mayra
01:00:09
for Puerto Rico
Beatrice J
01:00:40
Beatrice Jourdain, 2022, beatrice.jourdain@lmunet.edu I also came
Beatrice J
01:00:46
in late
John Solomonides (Umass)
01:12:19
please feel free to put any questions into the chat!
John Szymusiak- UPMC APD (he/him/his)
01:16:36
Follow us on Instagram @upmcmedpeds
Matthew Au
01:17:28
To the residents (mainly): All of the programs sound super awesome! What were some of the questions you were asking programs/other residents to get a better idea of whether program would be a great/better match for you?
Kristin Wong - Rutgers
01:17:31
here's the survey again: https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/RK3XYDL
Khadijah Hussain - MS4, Western Michigan University
01:17:59
What are your views on participating in away rotations/obtaining letters from away faculty?
Laith Enani, MS4 (he/him)
01:18:00
Hi guys, thank you for having us. Do you have any advice for US-IMG students?
Max Deng (he/him/his)
01:18:19
Do the M-P residents at your programs have a chance to work with just each other? Like when they're on the wards are they necessarily working with other M-P residents?
John Szymusiak- UPMC APD (he/him/his)
01:19:15
Our leadership team: Alex Mieczkowski- mieczkowskiae@upmc.edu, Allie Dakroub- dakroubah@upmc.edu, John Szymusiak- szymusiakja@upmc.edu
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University (he/him)
01:19:23
not important for us either, and agree its more for the applicant than the program
Sarah Hinton (she/her) - Prisma Health/UofSCSOM-Greenville
01:20:01
Agree with this response
Khadijah Hussain - MS4, Western Michigan University
01:20:08
Thank you!
Sarah Hinton (she/her) - Prisma Health/UofSCSOM-Greenville
01:20:42
I can't unmute, but I will say that our folks commonly work together. I love when all Med-Peds teams occur :)
Alex Mieczkowski (UPMC PD; she/her)
01:20:59
Agree. We do not set up ward teams specifically. That said, we love when we work with our Med-Peds residents and faculty
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University (he/him)
01:21:31
random, but if they would like to work together, we try to make those arrangements as well
Farha Pirani
01:22:14
It sounds like an away rotation is not necessary, but just to check, does it become more important for a student without a home program in Med-Peds to have done an away rotation, or should they simply have enough experiences/rationale otherwise to explain their interest in Med-Peds?
Rucha Vyas, St. George's University
01:22:25
Thank you all for doing this! What advice would you give to US-IMG applicants?
John Szymusiak- UPMC APD (he/him/his)
01:22:28
Our residents at Pitt do all rotate together as a class, so they are always on the same side as their class mates! And then in clinic they are working with essentially all MP residents
Phillip Pemberton | OSUCOM
01:22:53
Do you have Med-Peds specific services, like a inpatient consult service for adults with childhood chronic diseases?
Max Deng (he/him/his)
01:22:53
Thanks!
Renita Daniels
01:26:01
what opportunities do your programs provide for resident learning outside of patient care settings? (ex. simulations, noon conferences, etc.)
Sarah Hinton (she/her) - Prisma Health/UofSCSOM-Greenville
01:26:34
Prisma Health Program Leadership: Sarah Hinton (PD) sarah.hinton@prismahealth.org, Sen Ravindran (APD) sen.ravindran@prismahealth.org, Megan Houston (Program Administrator) megan.houston@prismahealth.org
Alex Mieczkowski (UPMC PD; she/her)
01:26:58
It’s not true!!!
Farha Pirani
01:27:18
Thank you all so much!
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University (he/him)
01:27:39
we do not
Christy Tsui, PGY1 (MaineMed)
01:28:22
@Renita - at Maine Med, we attend peds or medicine conference, depending what we are on at the time. Conference time is protected (attending hold pagers and respond to chats)! and we also have our own MP meetings monthly. We also have sim scheduled intermittently throughout the year for medicine, and monthly on the peds side. We also do a POCUS rotation during intern year
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University (he/him)
01:28:27
but the skill set for MP was super helpful when the pandemic was raging here in socal, when we had young adults in the PICU
Kristin Wong - Rutgers
01:28:54
we have an office practice rotation that allows for 1 resident to be the "transitional care consult" resident for our adult services
Katie Diamond-Falk (she/her) - MMC PD
01:30:02
Our residents participate in didactics for either IM or Peds dependent on the rotations - half day didactics, do monthly evening MP didactics (mix of hanging out and learning)
Renita Daniels
01:30:07
thank you!
Sarah Hinton (she/her) - Prisma Health/UofSCSOM-Greenville
01:30:07
We have similar learning opportunities as described by Alex @ UPMC
Christy Tsui, PGY1 (MaineMed)
01:31:44
GOOD LUCK everyone! :) Please reach out with questions and follow us @mmcmedpedsresidency
Allie Dakroub (Pitt (UPMC) APD)
01:31:50
Please complete the survey!!!
John Szymusiak- UPMC APD (he/him/his)
01:31:56
best of luck everyone and welcome to the med peds family!
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University (he/him)
01:32:02
good luck all!
Samantha Pendleton
01:32:12
Thank you all so much!!
Kay Chea, PD Loma Linda University (he/him)
01:32:12
Reach out if there are any questions!
Dan Cabrera
01:32:13
Thank you everyone!
Erica Onwuegbuchu
01:32:13
Thank you for a great session!!
Alex Mieczkowski (UPMC PD; she/her)
01:32:13
Good luck everyone! We are so excited to have you as a part of our Med-peds family!
Khadijah Hussain - MS4, Western Michigan University
01:32:13
Thank you all so much!
Alex Woinski OMS-III
01:32:15
Thank you all!
Santoshi M Kandalam
01:32:17
Thank you all so much!
Katie Diamond-Falk (she/her) - MMC PD
01:32:17
Good luck and welcome to Med-Peds!
Rucha Vyas, St. George's University
01:32:18
Thank you all so much!
Rebecca McDonald
01:32:18
Thank you for another great session!
Beatrice J
01:32:20
Thank you!
Megan Dunleavy, CMSRU
01:32:20
Thanks everyone!
Ummar Jamal
01:32:22
Thank you!
Brittany Hopkins
01:32:25
Thanks so much for your time!!!!
Nishma Jain
01:32:26
Thank you!
Kayla Wilson
01:32:30
Thank you all!
Hadiqa Memon (PLFSOM- MS4)
01:32:31
Thank you so much for your time!
Katie Burke MS4, AMC
01:32:32
So awesome thank you !!
Samuel Stanley
01:32:38
Thanks everyone!
Sundar Devakottai, UIWSOM
01:32:42
Thank You!