Logo

Program Spotlights #2: University of Missouri Kansas City, Penn State Hershey, Geisinger, U of Nebraska (UNMC) - Shared screen with speaker view
Reesha White
21:41
Reesha White, 2022, reesha.white@burrell.edu
Jocelyn McGil, M4 UAMS (she/her/hers)
21:42
Jocelyn McGill, 2022, jmmcgill@uams.edu
Joseph Cornett
21:42
Joseph Cornett, 2022, jac2430@cumc.columbia.edu
Samantha Pendleton
21:42
Samantha Pendleton, 2022, spendleton1@une.edu
Brianna Norris
21:42
Brianna, Norris 2022 brianna.norris@my.rfums.org
Margaret Ginoza
21:43
Margaret Ginoza, 2022, mginoza@miami.edu
Heather Andrade, M4 Mizzou
21:43
Heather Andrade, 2022, hjg68g@health.missouri.edu
Anita Gandhi
21:43
Anita Gandhi, 2022, gandhia18@students.ecu.edu
Megan Schoelch
21:43
Megan Schoelch, 2022, mas4b2@umsystem.edu
Benjamin Jacob
21:43
Benjamin Jacob, 2022, benjaminr.jacob@utsouthwestern.edu
Khadijah Hussain - MS4, WMed
21:44
Khadijah Hussain, c/o 2022, khadijah.hussain@med.wmich.edu
Natalie McGinnis, MS4 UT Houston
21:44
Natalie McGinnis 2022 Natalie.h.mcginnis@uth.tmc.edu
Wilfred Njemanze, Medical Student
21:45
Wilfred Njemanze, 2022,wnjemanze@liberty.edu
Katie Burke MS4, AMC
21:45
Katie Burke, 2022, burkek3@amc.edu
Ummar Jamal
21:45
Ummar Jamal, 2022, uj7786@pcom.edu
Alex Woinski OMS-III
21:45
Alex Woinski, 2023, awoinski@osteo.wvsom.edu
Emily Kepfer
21:46
Emily Kepfer, 2022, emilyke@pcom.edu
Annika Lee
21:46
Annika Lee, 2022, annika.clare.lee@emory.edu
Tanner Corse
21:46
Tanner Corse, 2022
Avleen Bhandal (she/her)
21:46
Avleen Bhandal, 2022, avleenkbhandal@gmail.com
Kayla Wilson
21:47
Kayla Wilson, 2022, kayla.wilson@my.rfums.org
Beatrice Jourdain
21:47
Beatrice Jourdain, 2022, Beatrice.jourdain@lmunet.edu
Matthew Au
21:47
Matthew Au, 2022, matthew.au@my.rfums.org
Javier Hernandez
21:48
Javier Hernandez, 2022, jhernandez707@marian.edu
Rebecca McDonald
21:48
Rebecca McDonald, 2022 rebeccamcdonald@my.unthsc.edu
Francisco Lasso-Claudio
21:49
Francisco Lasso-Claudio, 2022, flasso18@stu.psm.edu
Erica Onwuegbuchu
21:50
Erica Onwuegbuchu, 2022, eronwueg@utmb.edu
Rucha Vyas
21:51
Rucha Vyas, 2022, rvyas@sgu.edu
Jonathan Slimovitch
21:52
Jonathan Slimovitch, 2022, jslimovitch@mcw.edu
Drew Cox, MS4
21:52
Drew Cox, 2022, drew_cox@brown.edu
Andy Nguyen (UWSMPH)
21:53
Andy Nguyen, 2022, abnguyen2@wisc.edu
Hannah Durant
21:54
Hannah Durant, 2022, hdurant@une.edu
Mit Shah - MS4 Saint Louis University SOM
21:56
Mit Shah, 2022, mit.shah@health.slu.edu
Meredith Kline
21:56
Meredith Kline, 2022, meredith.kline@emory.edu
Santoshi Mounika Kandalam
21:57
Santoshi Kandalam, 2022, mounikakandalam@gmail.com
Taylor Orcutt
21:59
Taylor Orcutt, 2022, taylororcutt@my.unthsc.edu
Danielle Cannon
22:00
Danielle Cannon, 2023, cannonda@upstate.edu
Federica Brecha (she/ her)
22:00
Federica Brecha, 2022, federica.brecha@hsc.utah.edu
Alexis
22:01
Alexis Fox, 2022, foxalex@upstate.edu
Brittany Hopkins (MS4-Meharry Medical College)
22:03
Brittany Hopkins c/o 2022, bhopkins19@email.mmc.edu
Alaina Turchi
22:06
Alaina Turchi, 2022 , aturchi@iu.edu
Rohan Khazanchi (he/him)
22:08
Rohan Khazanchi, 2022, r.khazanchi@unmc.edu
Sundar Devakottai, UIWSOM
22:09
Sundar Devakottai, 2022, devakott@student.uiwtx.edu
Erik Reidel
22:09
Erik Reidel, 2022, reidele@amc.edu
Chris Williams
22:10
Chris Williams, 2022
Tanner Corse
22:12
Tanner Corse 2022 tanner.corse@hmhn.org
Deepti’s iPhone
22:20
Deepti Surampudi, 2022 surampud@student.uiwtx.edu
Andrew N
22:21
Andrew Nevin, 2022, anevin@pennstatehealth.psu.edu
Chris Williams
22:32
Chris Williams, 2022. Christopher.james.williams@live.mercer.edu
Taylor Hill
22:34
Taylor Hill 2022 twh001@lsuhs.edu
Varsha Kandadi
22:38
Varsha Kandadi, 2022, vktgc@umsystem.edu
Elizabeth Hernandez
22:41
Elizabeth Hernandez, 2022, edh1322@jagmail.southalabama.edu
Sarah Householder
22:49
Sarah Householder, 2022, sh3871@cumc.columbia.edu
Arlene Ho
23:18
Arlene Ho, 2022, arlene.ho@med.wmich.edu
Marjada Tucker
23:21
Marjada Tucker, 2022, mftucker@umc.edu
Dang Vu
23:44
Dang Vu 2022thvu@salud.unm.edu
Jaimie Rogner
23:51
Jaimie Rogner 2022 rognerj@upstate.edu
Catherine Bianco
24:34
Catherine Bianco, cbianco@une.edu, 2022
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
44:24
Feel free to ask questions— we are happy to answer!
Mit Shah - MS4 Saint Louis University SOM
44:29
Hi everyone! What are some "green flags" that y'all look for in an applicant during interview day?
Alex Chop, Chief Res, Geisinger MP
44:50
I'm Alex Chop, one of the Geisinger Med-Peds chief residents. Feel free to send me a question here or reach out at any time via email adchop1@geisinger.edu
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
45:13
@Mit: to clarify, you mean things that are extra awesome?
Mit Shah - MS4 Saint Louis University SOM
45:53
Yes absolutely!
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
47:44
Green flags: meaningful interest in groups (more than just you volunteered for a 5k or something for a day), leadership positions are always good, clinical experience in things like free clinics or international health, any extra degrees (MPH, certificates, etc). None of these are required but things that help to show more of who you are
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
50:30
Feel free to send me private messages— happy to ask ‘anonymous’ questions for you all.
Mit Shah - MS4 Saint Louis University SOM
52:57
All great information! Thank you!
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
55:03
Great questions— keep ‘em coming !
Anita Gandhi
56:11
If interviews are virtual this year (I’m guessing they are), is there any talk of having a second look or some sort of opportunity in the future to visit the program? Thanks is advance and thank you for all the useful information!
Annika Lee
56:29
How about opportunities to incorporate research during residency? Thank you again for answering all these questions.
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
57:29
@Anita: I think that is going to be program specific and system specific as interview season moves along and COVID variants. You may need to reach out to your top programs and ask what they are doing.
Anita Gandhi
58:09
Ok, thank you!
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
59:09
Anyone else have the Fresh Prince song in their head after Tom said the part about being born and raised in Philadelphia? Just me?
Natalie McGinnis, MS4 UT Houston
01:01:31
Given the increased likelihood of online interviews and limited second looks - what the best way you've found for students to find their people? I feel like virtually it will could be difficult to have that gut feeling!
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:03:31
@Natalie: I will say all the matched interns this year did say they were able to get a good feel for the program. We are all adjusting to the new interview season and we are all getting better and ensuring you meet as many residents as possible to be able to give you the feel
RonWilliams, PD Penn State
01:03:40
Many programs have an event the evening before the interview where you get to interact with the residents. This gives you a good feel for the personality of the program.
Mit Shah - MS4 Saint Louis University SOM
01:05:56
If residents have suggestions for changes or tweaks to their curricular or extracurricular learning while in the program, do they feel like it's been feasible for them to voice their thoughts and instill change to benefit the learning experience for all?
RonWilliams, PD Penn State
01:07:54
Yes. At Penn State we have a formal yearly retreat where resident suggestions are then acted upon to change the program for the better. We also have monthly meetings that bring up issues that we act upon as well.
Jacqueline Kitchen (she/her) PD UMKC
01:08:52
Residents are required to participate in committees and really expected to identify areas for improvement
Jacqueline Kitchen (she/her) PD UMKC
01:09:21
We love feedback. It’s the resident’s program!
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
01:09:58
Nebraska has a focus on making sure we schedule electives that YOU need for career development. For example, we had a grad go into Prison Medicine — so she did a rotation at the jail system back near her home town.
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:10:29
At Geisinger we have an annual SWOT that is lead by the residents and they choose what they feel is most important to change for the upcoming year. We also have quarterly resident meetings as check ins and rapid series of change to help ensure that we are the best possible program for our residents. Happy to talk more
Mit Shah - MS4 Saint Louis University SOM
01:10:59
Awesome thank you all!
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
01:12:31
Great questions, team! Thanks for sending them!
Allison Ashford PD UNMC (Nebraska)
01:17:58
WE LOVE MED PEDS!
Khadijah Hussain - MS4, WMed
01:18:04
Thank you to all the panelists for telling us about your programs and answering questions!
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:18:27
Feel free to reach out personally: twdavis@geisinger.eduTwitter: @GeisingerMedPedInstagram: @GeisingerMedPeds (remember the s)
Beatrice Jourdain
01:18:49
Thank you so much, I am falling more and more in lovw wiith Med Peds
Wilfred Njemanze, Medical Student
01:18:55
Thank you!!
Rebecca McDonald
01:19:01
Thank you!! Really good to hear from you all!
Rachel Johnson, APD, UNMC
01:19:01
It's always so great to get together with other med/peds people because you can just feel the great energy that we all have!
Samantha Pendleton
01:19:01
Thank you all so much!!
Rohan Khazanchi (he/him)
01:19:03
thank you all!!
Javier Hernandez
01:19:04
Thank you!!
Annika Lee
01:19:04
Thank you!
Brittany Hopkins (MS4-Meharry Medical College)
01:19:05
Thanks!!!!
Sundar Devakottai, UIWSOM
01:19:05
Thank you!