Logo

MPPDA Spotlight Session 7: Loyola University, Illinois Chicago, University of Chicago, Rush University, South Carolina, ChristianaCare/Jefferson, Utah, Colorado, South Florida, South Carolina - Shared screen with speaker view
Sasha Kapil
46:36
Everyone please feel free to reach out to NMPRA at info@medpeds.org. We’d love to connect you to a Med/Peds mentor!
Himani Divatia, DO, APD ChristianaCare
49:32
Nicole Baum Nicole.Baum@ChristianaCare.org Tina Hu Tina.Y.Hu@ChristianaCare.org PGY4 Martiza Harper Maritza.T.Harper@ChristianaCare.org PGY4 Ismanie Guillaume Ismanie.Guillaume@ChristianaCare.org PGY3 Chelsea Hastry Chelsea.G.Hastry@ChristianaCare.org PGY3 Justin Nichols Justin.Nichols@ChristianaCare.org PGY3 Katelyn Hotaling Katelyn.Hotaling@ChristianaCare.org PGY3 Alex Chua Alex.M.Chua@ChristianaCare.org PGY2 Mack Phillips Taylor.M.Phillips@ChristianaCare.org PGY2 Chelsey Johnson Chelsey.Johnson@ChristianaCare.org PGY2 Soraya Bascoy Soraya.B.Bascoy@ChristianaCare.org PGY2 Shalini Vadalia Shalini.J.Vadalia@ChristianaCare.org PGY1 Angelica Gangemi Angelica.Gangemi@christianacare.org PGY1 Jessica Gailing Jessica.Gailing@christianacare.org PGY1 Julia Merriam Julia.merriam@christianacare.org PGY1 Devin Sullivan Devin.Sullivan@christianacare.org
PD U Chicago Rita Rossi-Foulkes
51:25
Rita Rossi-Foulkes U Chicago rita1@uchicago.edu
Rush PD - Chris Bruti
51:37
Chris Bruti, Rush, christopher_bruti@rush.edu
U of CO PD- Julie Venci
51:38
Julie Venci- PD U of CO, Julie.venci@dhha.org
Loyola APD- Ellen Parker
51:39
Loyola APD— Ellen Parker. ellen.parker@lumc.edu
Loyola PD - Nate Derhammer
51:42
Nate Derhammer (Loyola) nderhammer@lumc.edu
UIC PD - Pavan K Srivastava
51:49
Pavan Srivastava - UI COM - Chicago, PD, psriva1@uic.edu
michael
51:52
Erika Abel - Program Director of University of South Florida (in Tampa) esabel2@usf.edu
Rush APD-Jennifer McDonnell
52:03
Jen McDonnell--APD Rush Jennifer_mcdonnell@rush.edu
Sarah Mennito (MUSC PD)
52:13
MUSC (Medical University of South Carolina) PD-Sarah Mennito mennito@musc.edu
Elimarys Perez-Colon
52:37
Elimarys Perez-Colon eperezco@usf.edu University of South Florida Associate Program Director
Gina Riccardi & Alan Klinkhachorn CCHS Med-Peds Hospitalist
53:02
Gina Riccardi & Alan Klinkhachorn - Christiana Care Med-Peds hospitalists - gina.riccardi@christianacare.org, alan.klinkhachorn@christianacare.org
Elimarys Perez-Colon
56:40
Erika Abel- Program Director is the person named “Michael”
U of Utah PD - Casey Gradick
01:04:12
Casey Gradick - U of Utah PD- casey.gradick@hsc.utah.edu, MP hospitalist
Himani Divatia, DO, APD ChristianaCare
01:04:48
Himani Divatia, DO, APD ChristianaCare hdivatia@christianacare.org
Ronald Magliola
01:16:41
It's time... send your questions to the group chat! Type away!
PD U Chicago Rita Rossi-Foulkes
01:17:14
Gotta love Zoom
Angela Zhang (She/hers)
01:17:46
Hi! Thank you so much for doing this so late in your evening. What structural racism initiatives are you undertaking in addition to diversity recruiting and unconscious bias training? Specifically, I am curious about how you counter race-based medicine and how you mitigate the minority tax (where minoritized trainees are often asked to do unpaid work around ED&I)? Thanks so much!
Elizabeth Hayes - HUCM MS4
01:18:03
Good evening everyone! Can you discuss any group community service done by your residents?
Sasha Kapil
01:18:26
Dr kolarik is also back!!
Russ Kolarik
01:18:30
Sorry my internet connection went out!!
PD U Chicago Rita Rossi-Foulkes
01:19:30
We have a strong section of health care disparities that both studies and implements initiatives to reduce disparities. All residents receive cultural humility training. Our Urban Health Initiative is a partnership between a community based organization called the South Side Health Collaborative
Christy Tsui, OMSIV
01:19:40
This was a great session! For the programs that have certificate programs or have opportunities to obtain a Master’s (Public Health or Med Education) - how many of your residents each year choose to pursue these degree programs? What is the balance like between clinical work and coursework? Thank you!
PD U Chicago Rita Rossi-Foulkes
01:20:07
We have folks in the MedEd track each year
UIC PD - Pavan K Srivastava
01:20:41
we have one resident pursuing an MPH - we were fortunate to have 3-4 residents who arrived already with MPH training
PD U Chicago Rita Rossi-Foulkes
01:20:58
We also provide trauma informed care training to all residents
Jacki Lineberry, VCOM 4th year
01:21:09
I know Rush spoke to this earlier, but for others, can you address whether COMLEX is accepted or if USMLE is required for your application process?
Sarah Mennito (MUSC PD)
01:21:46
MUSC accepts COMLEX or USMLE
Himani Divatia, DO, APD ChristianaCare
01:21:50
Our residents participate in a variety of community service including local health fairs, volunteering at a homeless shelter, annual toy and food drives, providing nutrition counseling at a local community center, and volunteering to provide free medical care at the local salvation army. In COVID times, we have performed read alouds virtually for children with limited access to literacy sources
Irfan "Simon" Ali | CUSOM M4
01:21:57
One of the programs mentioned that POCUS was taught to all residents — can the other programs talk about the availability for interested students?
Ronald Magliola
01:22:34
We anticipate that the vast majority of programs will accept either COMLEX or USMLE. Osteopathic graduates do not need to provide both.
Giovana Jaen
01:22:57
Hi thank you for doing this! What kind of characteristics do you specifically seek out in the search for residents? Which cardinal characteristics are hallmarks of your residents and institution?
Erika Abel PD USF
01:23:51
we accept either
PD U Chicago Rita Rossi-Foulkes
01:24:20
We seek a diverse group of trainees committed to provide culturally humble, equitable quality care to a medically underserved community
Elizabeth Hayes - HUCM MS4
01:24:35
Another question from me if there is time! - What is a common error/mistake you have seen applicants make in the past and would not advise current applicants to do in the future?
Loyola APD- Ellen Parker
01:24:37
Loyola has a POCUS program completed through our Friday school curriculum. It has expanded to residents having POC ultrasound on IM rotaions
ChristianaCare PD- Allen Friedland
01:24:42
Think of yourself on the journey to leadership and the skills needed to get there. Most of us are not born with all the skills of a leader. COVID taught us that leadership in crisis is a different set of skills than othertimes
PD U Chicago Rita Rossi-Foulkes
01:24:55
U of C does POCUS training for all residents
UIC PD - Pavan K Srivastava
01:25:01
we have a POCUS rotation - within gen med
UIC PD - Pavan K Srivastava
01:25:07
at UIC
Erika Abel PD USF
01:25:15
Many of our faculty have been through unconscious bias training and we will have completed all faculty within the next few months.
Sarah Mennito (MUSC PD)
01:25:17
We have POCUS training mainly in the MICU and Peds ED
Elimarys Perez-Colon
01:25:20
We have a POCUS program via IM
Himani Divatia, DO, APD ChristianaCare
01:25:21
Also have POCUS training starting as early as orientation to continuation into a procedure elective and procedure team if desired
Irfan "Simon" Ali | CUSOM M4
01:26:29
Thank you!
U of Utah PD - Casey Gradick
01:26:29
For angela’s ?- At Utah to combat structural racism we’re implementing reporting of microaggressions in the hospital, have a new curriculum that involves role playing with the residents, have a book club with anti-racist topics, have several research projects aimed at health disparities, as well as recruitment efforts and bias training
Elimarys Perez-Colon
01:26:50
We perform a holistic evaluation of all applicants. Looking for adaptable and compassionate individuals ready to serve your community while learning
ChristianaCare PD- Allen Friedland
01:27:17
Spill coffee on the APD
Loyola APD- Ellen Parker
01:28:00
Loyola has incorporated unconscious bias training and race in medicine education into our monthly Med Peds Curriculum content
Jessica Gonzalez (FSUCOM, MS4)
01:28:43
Hi everyone! Any advice on couple's matching Med-Peds and EM. EM is capping interviews this year and we are wondering how to best prepare for a limited amount of interviews. Thank you so much for sharing with us!
Erika Abel PD USF
01:29:00
With respect to racial disparities and systemic racism- a group of residents at our institution met to propose programs and changes in addition to several intitiatives that had already been underway. These include programs to help mentor minority physician in hospital leadership. There are already clinics that our hospital funds to try to close health care disparities for both access to care and improved care outcomes. There is also a health care inequities hospital committee that is beginning to collect data in order to make some of these issues a focus of program wide initiatives similar to what we did for sepsis.
Ronald Magliola
01:29:00
Next session is tomorrow night... 6 pm eastern. Look forward to seeing everyone again!
U of CO PD- Julie Venci
01:29:11
Thanks for joining tonight! Good luck and we can't wait to meet you!
Nina Madjer
01:29:13
Thank you so much! This was very helpful!
Jacki Lineberry, VCOM 4th year
01:29:16
Thank you all!
Johanna Rosales
01:29:17
Thank you all!
Emily Leong
01:29:17
thank you!
Tori Alexander, MS4 OSUCOM
01:29:18
Thank you all so much!!!
Margaret Kell, OMSIV- NYITCOM
01:29:18
Thank you so much!
Jennifer Philipose
01:29:18
Thank you so much!
Abhishek Surampudy, MS4 SKMC
01:29:18
Thank you very much!
Jorge Rivera (UICOM-Chicago)
01:29:18
Thanks!
Christy Tsui, OMSIV
01:29:19
thank you!!
Patricia Morrow
01:29:19
Thank you to all!
Rachelle Gonzales - EVMS M3
01:29:20
Thank you for your advice and time!
Erika Abel PD USF
01:29:20
thanks!