Logo

MPPDA Program Spotlight 4: Albany, U Penn/CHOP, Baystate, Loma Linda, Geisinger, Ohio State, LSU-Shreveport, Southern California - Shared screen with speaker view
Charlie Oertli MS4, Creighton
18:16
Charlie Oertli- MS4- CharlieOertli@creighton.edu
Anna Berry (BCM MS4)
18:20
anna.berry@bcm.edu
Jacki Lineberry, VCOM 4th year
18:20
jferrance@vt.vcom.edu
Megan Harris
18:20
Megan Harris - harrimeg@upstate.edu
Giovana Jaen
18:21
Giovana Jaen, MS4 at FAU gjaen2012@health.fau.edu
Simin Hossain
18:21
simin.hossain@som.umaryland.edu
Rachelle Ann Gonzales
18:21
Rachelle Gonzales - M3 EVMS - gonzalrl@evms.edu
Brittany Brown, CUSOM OMS4
18:23
Brittany Brown: bsbrown0502@email.campbell.edu
Jennifer Tich, EVMS M4
18:23
Jennifer Tich, EVMS M4, tichjn@evms.edu
Kathryn Davis (AMC | MS3)
18:24
Kathryn Davis - davisk13@amc.edu
Jonathan Pan
18:25
Jonathan Pan - jonathan.pan@icahn.mssm.edu
Austin Oslock
18:26
austin.oslock@osumc.edu / Austin.oslock@gmail.com
lauren
18:27
Lauren Chan: Lauren.chan@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Kathryn Andrews
18:28
Kathryn.Andrews@osumc.edu
Emily Leong
18:28
emily.leong@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Amy Blasini
18:28
Amy Blasini, any@med.umich.edu
Tori Alexander (OSUCOM)
18:28
Victoria.alexander@osumc.edu, M4
Amanda Kaley
18:30
Amanda Kaley KaleyA@upstate.edu
Neemesh Desai
18:30
Neemesh Desai - Neemesh_desai@rush.edu
Jorge Rivera (UICOM-Chicago)
18:31
Jorge Rivera, jriver71@uic.edu
Emilio Feliz Sala
18:31
Emilio Feliz - efelizsal@gmail.com
Abhishek Surampudy, MS4 SKMC
18:31
Abhishek Surampudy MS4 Abhishek.Surampudy@jefferson.edu
Claire Garpestad
18:31
Claire Garpestad - cwgarpes@med.umich.edu
Hadassa Holzapfel
18:32
Hadassa Holzapfel - holzapfe@post.bgu.ac.il
Brianna Bockman
18:34
Brianna Bockman (Ross University, MS4)- briannabockman@mail.rossmed.edu
Elizabeth Hayes - HUCM MS4
18:34
Good evening everyone! Elizabeth Hayes - elizabeth.hayes@bison.howard.edu
Jessica Wang
18:35
Jessica Wang - OMS IV - jessicawang@kcumb.edu
Kei Takigawa
18:38
Kei Takigawa, kei.takigawa@ttuhsc.edu
Bailey O'Donnell
18:40
Bailey O’Donnell MS4 - odonnelb@upstate.edu
Sonia Joshi MS4
18:40
Sonia Joshi - sonia.joshi@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Michael
18:42
Michael Gonzalez mrgonza2@uic.edu
Brittney Johnston
18:43
Brittney Johnston brittney.johnston@lmunet.edu
jenn marsidi
18:44
Jennifer Marsidi - jmarsidi@une.edu
Julia Witowska
18:45
Julia Witowska - jwitowska@luc.edu
Taylor Pearl
18:45
Taylor Pearl, M4 at OSUCOM, taylor.pearl@osumc.edu
Philip Jurasinski
18:45
Phil Jurasinski, Des Moines University, Philip.N.Jurasinski@dmu.edu OMS 4
Katya Castillo
18:45
castillo.katerina@mayo.edu - M4 Mayo Clinic SOM
Patricia Morrow
18:46
Patricia Morrow pmorrow@luc.edu
Megan Harris
18:47
and Daniel Lichtenstein at lichtend@upstate.edu
Avni Sheth
18:49
Avni Sheth, TouroCOM OMS IV - asheth@student.touro.edu
Ashley Allsbrook, MS-4 CUSOM
18:51
Ashley Allsbrook- arallsbrook0525@email.campbell.edu
Jossias Genao
18:51
Jossias Genao - Jgenao16@stu.psm.edu
Jheison Giraldo
18:52
Jheison Giraldo - Jheison.Giraldo@stonybrookmedicine.edu
Shiv Misra
18:56
Shiv Misra MS4 Rowan misras0@rowan.edu
Karim Abdel Jalil
19:03
Karim Abdel Jalil - kabdeljalil@une.edu
Laura Harrison
19:04
Laura Harrison laura_harrison@brown.edu
Matthew Alan Durst
19:05
Matthew durst - mdurst2@uic.edu
Johanna Rosales
19:08
Jo Rosales rosalesjr@acom.edu
Jacob Vaught
19:09
Jacob Vaught JVaught@vcom.edu
Simon Ali
19:11
Irfan "Simon" AliI_ali0414@email.campbell.edu
Poanna Bennam
19:12
Poanna Bennam p_bennam0908@email.campbell.edu
Adaola Onyenaka
19:18
Adaola Onyenaka-adaolao@auamed.net
Michael Hu
19:20
Michael Hu michael.hu@med.miami.edu
Jared Young
19:21
Jared Young jared.young.1@louisville.edu
Caroline LaFerla
19:21
Caroline LaFerla CLaferla06350@med.lecom.edu
Nathan
19:22
Nathan Field nffield@kcumb.edu
Tyler Knapp
19:25
Tyler Knapp tknapp@nyit.edu
Vi Lam
19:26
Vi Lam - OMS2 - vl8561@pcom.edu
Julia Black
19:30
Julia Black - julia.black@duke.edu
Ronald Magliola
19:33
Thanks for sending in those emails. Here's to a great evening of learning about med-peds!
Pranati Panuganti
19:34
pranati_panuganti@brown.edu
Hannah Groves
19:38
Hannah Groves - hgroves@salud.unm.edu
amandabalch
19:39
Amanda Balch, MS4 @ SUNY Upstate; balcha@upstate.edu
Rachel To
19:41
Rachel To - rachel.to@my.rfums.org
Taxia Arabatzis
19:45
Taxia Arabatzis tarabatzis@une.edu
Rowena Hann
19:53
Rowena Hann — rowena.hann@tu.edu
Jessica Gonzalez (MS4, FSUCOM)
19:58
Jessica Gonzalez, jmg17c@med.fsu.edu
Shane Stone
20:00
Shane Stone - sstone@vcom.vt.edu
Kevin Lozo MS4
20:03
Hi everyone! Kevin Lozo MS4 Rutgers. kwl41@njms.rutgers.edu
Adriana Lara
21:09
hi everyone ! Adriana Lara ; adriana.laramd@gmail.com
Angela Zhang
25:42
Angela Zhang (she hers) angela_zhang1@brown.edu
Aretha Donkor (Rush, M4)
27:48
Aretha Boakye-Donkor; aretha_boakye-donkor@rush.edu
Dana Apkon
28:16
Dana Apkon, dana.apkon@tufts.edu
Anyelika Delerme [OSU/NCH - Chief Resident]
30:51
michelle.gillespie@osumc.edu ana.delerme@osumc.edu allison.rossetti@osumc.edu
Simon Ali
35:50
Thank you guys so much! If you feel comfortable, could the PD's, APD's, and chief residents share their contact info in the chat?
Anyelika Delerme [OSU/NCH - Chief Resident]
46:03
Please feel free to contact us here at Ohio State and Nationwide Children’s with questions! Michelle.gillespie@osumc.edu, ana.delerme@osumc.edu, Allison.rossetti@osumc.edu
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
46:21
Lauren Beal LSU Shreveport PD emitch1@lsuhsc.edu
Kay Chea-PD Loma Linda University
46:25
Loma Linda - Kay Chea PD kchea@llu.edu
Mae Huo, APD Albany Med
46:29
Albany Med APD: Mae Huo, huom@amc.edu
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
46:30
Tom Davis: email: Twdavis@geisinger.edu Twitter @geisingerMedPed
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
46:36
Caleb Dupre LSU Shreveport chief resident cdupr8@lsuhsc.edu
Dava Szalda (UPenn/CHOP PD)
46:49
Dava Szalda: scalded@email.chop.edu Happy to answer questions about UPenn/CHOP or Med-Peds in general!
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
46:53
Amanda Callegan-Poche LSU Shreveport APD acall2@lsuhsc.edu
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
47:15
Kristie Searcy PGY2 LSU Shreveport ksearc@lsuhsc.edu
Dr. Verrico- Albany Med College
47:28
Albany Med - PD Ivelisse Verrico, MD verrici@amc.edu Follow us on instagram @amcmedpeds
Kay Chea-PD Loma Linda University
47:49
I forgot to give a shoutout to our Instagram: @llumedpeds
Dava Szalda (UPenn/CHOP PD)
47:51
**Dava Szalda: szaldad@email.chop.edu UPenn/CHOP
Baystate Medical Center
49:19
please contact us at Baystate! also, check out our website and instagram page. Sharon Wretzel, PD Sharon.wretzel@baystatehealth.org; Maura Muñoz Maura.munoz@baystatehealth.org. ; Crystal Cobb, PGY3 Crystal.cobbdo@baystatehealth.org; Faith Ikalina. faith-Andrea.ikalinamd@baystatehealth.org
Hannah Obasi (USC/LAC+USC PGY3)
53:45
I’m Hannah Obasi, a PGY3 at LAC+USC. My contact is Hannah.a.obasi@gmail.com
Anyelika Delerme [OSU/NCH - Chief Resident]
56:07
Below are some of our specialty clinics Comprehensive Adolescent/Adult Transition Care Home (CATCH) Programhttps://wexnermedical.osu.edu/primary-care/catch Center for Autism Services and Transition (CAST)https://wexnermedical.osu.edu/primary-care/adult-autism-center Young Adult Diabetes Transition Programhttps://www.nationwidechildrens.org/specialties/young-adult-diabetes-transition-program Columbus Ohio Adult Congenital Heart Disease (COACH) Programhttps://wexnermedical.osu.edu/primary-care/transitional-care Family AIDS Clinic and Educational Services Program (FACES)https://www.nationwidechildrens.org/specialties/family-aids-clinic-and-educational-services-faces Cystic Fibrosis Centerhttps://www.nationwidechildrens.org/specialties/cystic-fibrosis
Breck Nichols USC/LAC+USC PD
58:55
Breck Nichols PD USC: brn@usc.edu
Anyelika Delerme [OSU/NCH - Chief Resident]
59:27
Check us out on social media!
Anyelika Delerme [OSU/NCH - Chief Resident]
59:30
@MedPedsBuckeyesARossettiMDA_DelermeMDMGillespieMD
Hannah Obasi (USC/LAC+USC PGY3)
01:03:18
check out our website uscmedpeds.com
Johanna Rosales
01:04:05
Love tacos!
Allison Rossetti APD Ohio State University
01:06:30
Dairy Queen, Tacos and Disney Karaoke? sign me up!
Rachelle Gonzales - EVMS M3
01:06:40
Disney is awesome!
Jennifer Tich, EVMS M4
01:07:55
Disney jam sessions? Count me in!
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:10:16
Focus on getting letters from people who know you well. Does not need to be dept letters
Elizabeth Hayes - HUCM MS4
01:10:27
Good evening everyone! For the PDs who didn't already speak about the mentoring in their program, could you share a little bit about how residents are mentored in your programs? (formally or informally)
Ronald Magliola Metro PD
01:10:27
Let's get the questions going!
Baystate Medical Center
01:10:39
same as Tom, people who know you for letters
Dava Szalda (UPenn/CHOP PD)
01:11:17
We agree for letters - no chairs letters needed. Letters from people who know you are best!
Emilio Feliz Sala
01:11:23
What are some of the things your program does to help interns transition into residency? As well as support resident wellness?
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:11:24
For Geisinger, each resident has a Big Little program and also meet iwht APD monthly to help focus attention for the month and mentor for future
Giovana Jaen
01:11:44
Thank you so much for this session! What unique characteristics in an applicant capture the attention of those reviewing applications? In other words, what are the most highly valued characteristics or interests in a resident by your program?
Adaola Onyenaka
01:12:03
Good evening and thank you all for speaking with us this evening! Are there any programs that are currently offering virtual visiting elective rotations that do not require VSAS application? This is for IMGs whose schools are not able to access VSAS but would like to interact with the residents prior to interviews.
Kay Chea-PD Loma Linda University
01:12:11
At Loma Linda, each resident has a faculty mentor. In addition, the more senior residents also serve as mentors/big siblings for more junior residents
Rachelle Gonzales - EVMS M3
01:12:33
For students who took Step 1/Step 2CK during COVID, will the pandemic context be kept in mind when reviewing this part of the application?
Jessica Gonzalez (MS4, FSUCOM)
01:13:22
Hi everyone! Any advice for those of us who are couple's matching? Thank you so much for being with us today!
Simin Hossain
01:13:23
Thank you so much for taking the time to do this! Are applications reviewed again for interviews once step 2 CK becomes available after October 21st?
Ronald Magliola Metro PD
01:14:20
All programs are well aware of the delays and cancellations in USMLE and COMLEX. They will take all of this into account during the application cycle. I'm sure that programs will be continuously reviewing results of step scores.
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:14:30
Honestly we are looking for people who fit into the MP family and strive to ensure that MP program continues to grow and push each other forward
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:14:51
Step scores are really not as important as the total application and dedication to MP and fit for the program.
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:15:04
All of us take a holistic approach to reviewing applications
Kay Chea-PD Loma Linda University
01:16:00
There's a student with me and he has a question for the group. "I heard Baystate had a specific program on how to teach, can you expand on that. And to other programs, can you describe your curricula in helping learners teach others?"
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
01:16:03
for couples match - my advice is be flexible and happy to answer individual questions. emitch1@lsuhsc.edu
Michael Hu
01:16:49
Thank you for having this session and answering our questions! Can you talk about how diversity/EDI/anti-bias training is integrated into your curricula?
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
01:17:01
for virtual rotations -I know that there is a virtual pediatrics rotation at LSU New Orleans.
Allison Rossetti APD Ohio State University
01:18:05
Similar at OSU/NCH. We have a few focus tracks (Med Ed, Global Health, Advocacy, QI etc) for folks who want more in depth training in those areas
Simon Ali
01:18:06
As far as tips for applying, what are some of the things (maybe top 3 common things) you might come across in applications that make you feel that an applicant will be a great resident/asset to your program?
Angela Zhang
01:18:12
going off of that, what structural racism components are in the institution? specifically, how do you counter race based medicine, how do you integrate learning about the historical legacies of medicine, and how do you mitigate the minority tax? thank you!
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:18:50
For teaching at Geisinger it is built into our lecture series, there is med student simulation sessions that are MP ran so residents get to create cases and get feedback on how it went, formal Clinical Educators Track, system level lectures, and also informal journal clubs. Everyone can be as involved as they wish
Ellen Lubbers
01:19:33
For letters- if we’re able to get the ‘normal’ 2x department letters plus 1 IM and 1peds, is that also good or would it be better to do three+ attending letters? Will attending letters be better at getting to know us on paper than department letters?
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:20:11
For Letters: really focus on someone that can write you a very good letter that knows you. We want to know how you did on the clinical experience, your character, etc
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:20:18
does not matter who wrote the letter
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
01:20:33
the “normal” letters are ok too
Baystate Medical Center
01:21:33
Angela, great question! we have our anti racist working group which is addressing our curriculum and curricula design, ally training, community engagement to support our entire community who has been doing this work for ages.
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:22:03
At Geisinger we have incorporated the diversity lectures into our leadership development series, there are many opportunities to get involved in the categorical programs, residents are involved in several different diversity programs
Farrah Gaston
01:22:17
Are there any international opportunities at your residency programs?
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:22:37
Geisinger offers the opportunity for international health on Pediatrics for a month
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:23:05
sorry everyone to use the Chat more than talking, kiddos having a lot of fun running around so lots of background noise
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
01:23:06
Our residents can rotate in Kenya and Haiti.
Baystate Medical Center
01:23:13
we had a robust program with a hospital in Haiti, but COVID has curtailed our work in Haiti
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
01:23:22
there is another international elective being developed as well
Kay Chea-PD Loma Linda University
01:23:44
Loma Linda does do a lot of Global Health, one of our main sites is in Malawi, but there are a lot of sites around the world
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:24:18
Our main sites are in China and Peru. In Covid we have been cancelling unfortunately due to international travel bans
Allison Rossetti APD Ohio State University
01:25:14
OSU/NCH has a Global Health Certificate program with added exposure (lectures, journal clubs, networking etc) with faculty. Opportunity to go abroad twice in your 4 years (non COVID times)
Lauren Beal, PD; LSU Shreveport
01:25:19
sorry everyone! we have to hop off the meeting. Please feel free to email us with questions or visit our website. Good luck and go medpeds!
Kay Chea-PD Loma Linda University
01:25:24
here's a link: https://ghi.llu.edu/
Max Cruz (NMPRA pres)
01:25:49
Have to dip out, but awesome seeing everyone!!
Allison Rossetti APD Ohio State University
01:26:10
https://www.nationwidechildrens.org/for-medical-professionals/education-and-training/residency-programs/general-pediatrics/advanced-competency-program/global-health-certificate-program
Sasha Kapil
01:26:29
If you have further questions please email info@medpeds.org
Tom Davis (Geisinger PD)
01:26:35
Happy to answer any additional questions people may have! twdavis@geisinger.edu
Sasha Kapil
01:26:38
Thanks for attending everyone :)!
Dava Szalda (UPenn/CHOP PD)
01:26:40
Thank you everyone!!!! Look forwarding to speaking more!
Farrah Gaston
01:26:40
All of that is amazing. Thank you all so much!
Jessica Gonzalez (MS4, FSUCOM)
01:26:51
Thank you all so much!
Austin Oslock
01:26:52
Thank you, thank you, thank you! I already feel like part of the family.
Baystate Medical Center
01:26:53
Med Peds Rocks! thank you everyone!!!!
Rachelle Gonzales - EVMS M3
01:26:57
Thank you all for your time and advice!
Tori Alexander (M4 OSUCOM)
01:26:57
Thank you all so much! Excited to get to know you!
Aretha Donkor (Rush, M4)
01:26:58
Thank you all!
Shiv Misra
01:26:58
Thank you all so much!
Emily Leong
01:26:59
thank you so much!
Abhishek Surampudy, MS4 SKMC
01:27:00
Thank you very much!
Erica Onwuegbuchu
01:27:00
Thank you!
Jheison Giraldo
01:27:00
Thank You!
Hadassa Holzapfel
01:27:00
Thank you!
Kay Chea-PD Loma Linda University
01:27:01
Thanks for stopping by, good night all!
Elizabeth Hayes - HUCM MS4
01:27:01
Thank you all for taking the time to speak with us!
Giovana Jaen
01:27:01
Thank you so much!
Jessica Wang
01:27:02
Thank you so much!
Allison Engelbrecht
01:27:02
Thanks!
Kathryn Davis (AMC | MS3)
01:27:02
Thank you so much!
Simon Ali
01:27:03
Thank you so much!
Brittney Johnston
01:27:04
Thank you!
Jacob Vaught
01:27:05
Thank you!
Jorge Rivera (UICOM-Chicago)
01:27:05
Thanks
Michael Hu
01:27:05
Thank you!
Emilio Feliz Sala
01:27:07
Thank you! Have a great day
Karim Abdel Jalil
01:27:07
thank you!
Neemesh Desai
01:27:12
Thank you so much!
Jennifer Tich, EVMS M4
01:27:19
Thank you all!
Adaola Onyenaka
01:27:20
Thank you!
Patricia Morrow
01:27:21
thank you!